Entrusted with much

One of the most iconic lines in the movie “Spiderman” happens when Peter Parker’s Uncle, Ben, tells him this, “With great power comes great responsibility.” So the movie develops along that line, where Peter Parker matures and he learns that his superhuman powers were meant to serve the greater good. He also accepts that his life cannot be like that of a typical teenager; his freedom becomes limited, but he protects the freedom of the citizens of his city.

We actually find a similar theme in the Bible in Luke 12:48 “Everyone to whom much was given, of him much will be required, and from him to whom they entrusted much, they will demand the more.” If God blesses us with much, He also expects much from us. And if we were honest with ourselves, we must confess that in Singapore, we are blessed.

First of all, God has shaped our geography such that we are largely spared from natural disasters (at least up till this point in our history). I’m not sure how many of you have ever experienced anything close to an earthquake or tsunami.

I remember my closest encounter was when I was in Japan in 2003 on a missions stint. I was in a shopping center, 5th floor, looking at clothes when all of a sudden, a sales attendant started speaking very excitedly in Japanese. I didn’t understand what she was saying, but then I felt it. The building was swaying, and we both just held on to the counter. I remember praying to God, “I don’t want to come here to Japan to be on mission and die in an earthquake!”

It was also quite surreal that at the moment the earthquake was going on and the building was swaying, I spied this elderly gentleman holding up a suit he was looking at as if nothing unusual was happening. Maybe he had been through many worse earthquakes, I don’t know. The whole ordeal lasted maybe half a minute before the earthquake stopped. So it was probably a minor earthquake, but for me, I will remember it for the rest of my life.

We don’t have that in Singapore. Not only that, if you have ever travelled to any of the countries in our South-East Asia region, you would know that Singapore is comparatively prosperous and safe. Our schools are well equipped and the education we receive is second to none. How then should we respond to God’s blessing?

The first is to make the most use of all the opportunities available to you here in Fairfield Methodist Secondary School. Do your best here in school; whether it’s your studies or your CCAs. Leave here with no regrets. Your seniors who have just graduated have done excellently in the O levels. I’m confident that as this cohort, you will be able to excel if you put in the effort to do so. But don’t just excel by yourself and for yourself. Be on the lookout for others whom you may help along the way.

 

This week I had the privilege of meeting some Secondary 4G and H students for the first time. I heard how last year they went to the nearby blocks to clean the homes of the underprivileged elderly. That is a good example of being a blessing.

As I end my sharing this morning, I return back to the theme of our school this year: Make me a blessing. But the way we can be a blessing is to recognise how much God has already blessed us with. Then as we receive His blessings, we can pass it on to others. To whom much is given, much is expected. Therefore go, and be a blessing!

Leave a Reply

