God does not waste our experiences

Years ago when I was enrolled in Anglo-Chinese Junior College, I was in the midst of choosing a ECA. Initially, I thought about joining soccer. After the first training session (which as part of one strengthening exercise, I was carrying this dude that was twice my weight – or so it seemed to me – running around), I decided my life was worth preserving… so I didn’t continue.

My buddies then persuaded me to join the Public Address (P. A.) Crew, as they were all going to do so. I had no clue what the P. A. Crew did (something to do with sound and stuff), but I joined them anyway… the power of friendship. Ironic thing was, “joined because of friend, became P. A. Crew president”. God had a sense of humour.

We definitely had a blast. Some of my fondest memories during my JC life had to do with my P. A. Crew buddies. Sabo-ing the Student Council President and councillors. Making silly announcements before morning assembly. Getting caught half-naked in the General Office (eek!) etc.

On a more serious note though, the principle of “God does not waste our experiences”, really played out in my life. No, I didn’t not eventually work as a sound engineer or a related industry. But over the past 10 years (in my previous vocation as Chaplain’s Assistant in St. Andrew’s Secondary School) and even now as Christian Ministry Staff in Fairfield Methodist Secondary School, the training I had in the P. A. Crew has proved truly useful – being independent and setting up the sound system for chapel for example. I remember a St. Andrew’s teacher who was in charge of P. A. telling me she was glad that I could do so, because it saved her the work of setting up the sound system for chapel and keeping it each day.

So, to you students who are studying subjects which you feel are redundant (and outside your sphere of interest), to you adults who are in a vocation you perhaps thoroughly dislike, the encouragement is that God sees the beginning from the end. He knows what is ahead. And He does not waste any of your experiences.

 God sees the beginning from the end. He knows what is ahead. And He does not waste any of your experiences.

If we are able to see this sovereign God, the one about whom Joseph declared in Genesis 50:20, “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good…”, we can trust He can and will work all things together for our good and for His glory (cf. Romans 8:28-30).

 

Leave a Reply

