God’s encouraging word for me today!

I’m really thankful for today. It’s been such a crazy, busy period for me that I scarcely have had time to breathe. On the surface, things on the ministry front seems positive. But if I were honest with myself,  I knew that what has given way the most is my personal walk with the Lord. No, I’m not talking about reading the Bible and praying. I was still doing all that, but, it was mostly out of ritual and habit. Slowing down to take time to hear God? That was not happening. The result? Sin. In thought. In word. In deed.

When Pastor Kai preached this morning, I felt like this sermon was meant for me. I was discouraged. Pastor Kai described how the Jews in Haggai’s time looked at the physical temple that lay in ruins and when they remembered the glory of Solomon’s temple, how discouraged they must have felt. But God’s encouraging word to them was, “‘The latter glory of this house will be greater than the former,’ says the Lord of hosts, ‘and in this place I will give peace,’ declares the Lord of hosts.” Haggai 2:9. This was fulfilled in John 1, the incarnation, the glory of God manifested fully in His Son, Jesus Christ!

I identified when Pastor Kai asked if our lives (the temple of the Holy Spirit) felt like the temple in Haggai’s time… I knew I had desecrated God’s temple, my body; it lay in ruins because of my own sin and disobedience. And yet, God’s promise was He would make this temple more glorious than how it is now… Christ in me, the hope of glory!

My wife and I spent some time in prayer after the sermon and I was very touched by what she prayed for me; encouraging words. And when we exited the sanctuary, two girls approached me and one of them told me she appreciated my sharings at ACJC. I was blown away; totally humbled and extremely thankful. That God would use a broken vessel such as myself, to bless others. May He continue to do so, for His glory.

One thought on “God’s encouraging word for me today!

Leave a Reply

